D12 Light!

D12 Light/Lamp

 final

WARNING: May attract fire breathing dragons ready to battle.

I’m very, very, VERY excited to present to you all the D12 light/lamp. This is a really simple design with looks great! Seriously, when it’s sitting on my bedside table at night and I walk in my room, it just magical. The photos really don’t do it justice. I’m so happy with the way this turned out (if can you haven’t already noticed 😛 ) and I think it would have to be one of my favourite creations thus far.

So, how’d the idea come about? Let’s take a step back. I first saw a silver homemade D20 here http://ournerdhome.com/diy-d20/ that then got me thinking I could make little D20, D12 & D6 Christmas decorations. Then I thought I want it to light up! So came the D12 lamp… of course always thinking of ways to make my creations bigger and better – I would be very happy if I could make it spin.. but one thing at a time..

 So… now to INSTRUCTIONS!

MATERIALS

Large piece of silver cardboard (I got mine form Spotlight)

Scissors and/or craft cutting knife

Sticky tape (both normal and double sided)

Pen

Light (I got mine from IKEA – it one where you push the top down to turn it on and off)

Computer/printer/ruler – optional

 materialsa

materials

STEP 1 – first you need a basic outline of a D12. From here you can either trace the D12 sides onto the cardboard (what I did) or use a ruler to draw them on. Feel free to print out and use mine (pdf attached below). Also make sure your light will fit with the pentagon.

d12 outline

 pentagon and numbers exact

STEP 2 – trace/draw onto the back of the cardboard the sides and the numbers. Remember when tracing on the numbers to do it backwards so they end up the right way round when its al put together. I traced it on pentagon by pentagon according to my layout plan. A couple didn’t fit though so I had to do them separately. (TIP: write a number on the original pentagon so you always know which direction it should be in)

step 2

STEP 3 – cut it out. Remember to leave tabs for when each side joins together (you only need one tab between two sides). If your finding it difficult to work out while sides to put the table on (sorry I  didn’t write it down) then just give one to all sides, then cut them off as you don’t need them. You actually only need 11 sides as the twelfth side will remain open (this is how you access the light). I decided to do away with side ‘9’ because it was on an end, so easy to do away with and the less numbers with circles in them I had to cut out the better! (see below). You can keep the twelfth side and use a ‘flat’ to access the light if you wish.

STEP 4 – use the craft knife to cut out the numbers. I don’t really like using these (mostly because I’m not very good at using them!) but I figured it would give a nice finish than trying to stuff scissors into it. You are going to need a fair amount of patience for this – its takes a while and is easy to make a mistake (is worth the patience though!).step 3

STEP 5 – fold down all the edges so they all have a crease line.

STEP 6 – stick it all together! At first I did try using glue as I thought that would give it at stronger hold, but that just got too messy so I quickly swopped to the double sided tape instead. You want to put some double sided tape on the tab, then stick it down on the inside of the adjoining side. I then put a piece of normal tape over it to give it a good hold.

step 6

STEP 7 – turn your light on and stick it over it or put the light in it and have the top open – it your choice. Now marvel in how cool it looks!

step 7

Alternatively if you wanted to add a bit of extra colour/effect to it you could always cover the letters with tissue paper or cellophane (I suggest red).

If you don’t have or don’t want to use a light or cut out the numbers, you could always invest in some glow in the dark paint or reflective stickers…

3 thoughts on “D12 Light!

Leave a Reply

